Most schools are planning to replace sport and exercise classes with more academic sessions. How will this change affect children’s lives in your view?

In recent times, it is no longer news that there is an ongoing agenda by academic institutions to substitute sporting and recreational activities with additional classroom work. This plan is gathering momentum across the globe without comprehensive assessment of the consequences on the students. This essay will discuss the negative impact of such development will have on the pupils with relevant excerpts from the New York Times magazine and Daily Times Journal.

To begin with, one major setback of such practice is a drastic decrease in the rate of understanding. Learning becomes less boring and more interesting when there is a balance of classroom and outdoor activities (such as football, athletics, aerobics and calisthenics), ultimately enhancing understanding. Students enjoy field activities more when juxtaposed with classroom teachings which increases academic performance. For instance, the New York Times magazine reported a significant improvement in students’ performance in schools with a proper blend of both activities.

Furthermore, the children’s self-esteem will be negatively impacted if such plan is implemented. Students’ self-esteem is improved when they engage in more external activities and social engagements; they express themselves better there, compared to when they are confined to the four walls of the classroom. Consequently, soft skills (such as public speaking and people management) are developed which are essential for a successful career. An empirical survey carried out by the Daily Independent Journal, showed that a 70% decrease in the self-esteem of students who attended schools without sporting facilities.

As a closing remark, it can be argued that any attempt to replace outdoor activities with classroom teachings will have downward consequence such as reduced understanding and low self-esteem on pupils.