Write about the following topic.

Are famous people treated unfairly by the media? Should they be given more privacy, or is the price of their fame an invasion into their private life?

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent times, people have questioned if the treatment of celebrities by the media is unfair. While some people have asked if they need more privacy, others question if the invasion is a price they pay for their fame. I am of the opinion that lack of freedom is a consequence of being famous because of the role they play in the society.

On the one hand, there are almost daily evidences that shows that it is almost impossible to be popular and have a private life. In other words, celebrities are public figures who act as role models to a large percentage of the society particularly youths. Their actions are being replicated by their followers and therefore, the need to constantly ensure they do not influence the masses negatively. For instance, Nigerian musicians such as Davido, Wizkid and Naira Marley are role models to approximately 60% of Nigerian youths. Also, being fame comes with leadership expectation and good leaders should eschew exemplary traits in every area of their life. Consequently, the personal life of famous individuals need to closely watched in other to ensure they can truly lead the people in any capacity they can.

On the other hand, it should be known that people that are famous have families and are also humans like us; therefore the need to allow them have their privacy. Children from these homes sometimes become uncomfortable with such invasion, thereby affecting how they interact with the society. They often get withdrawn from expressing themselves and ultimately not being able to socialize. Thus, the need to give them privacy to ensure they can associate freely with the society. In addition, famous people sometimes live fake life because of the pressure of trying to handle fame. Ultimately, they might resort to crime to keep up with the pressure.

To recapitulate, while people may vary in their opinion, I believe that famous people are not unfairly treated by the media and need to be constantly followed because they act as role model to youths in the society