Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, environmental protection has become one of the most important issues the public are concerned about. while some people deem that it is the responsibility of the government and big companies to protect the environment because they hold the power and pool the resources necessary while individuals are too feeble to make much effort, I think that every individual can make a difference.

There is an old saying goes as: Constant efforts bring success. this means that individuals did have the capacity to save our motherland if they band together and move towards the same direction. For example, if everyone in China saves one piece of paper every day, nearly a million trees can be saved in one day. Therefore, we must realize the power of each person and shoulder our own responsibility.

Moreover, the most important thing must be the effect on big companies and factories caused by public awareness and habits. Specifically, environmental-friendly behaviors of the public can largely influence the business strategies of big companies. For example, when disposable plastic bags are not popular anymore in the market, the manufacturers will stop their production and find eco-friendly replacements such as fabric bags. Thus, the power of individuals is maximized and makes a big difference.

However, that is not to say we should ignore the responsibility of the government and big companies. Admittedly, in solving some large-scale problems like deforestation and greenhouse effect, the government and big companies should fully harness their technology and power to come up with strategic plans.

In summary, everyone is responsible in protecting our planet. Meanwhile, the government and big companies should shoulder their responsibilities and make full use of their power and resources. Only in this way can we assure that we can hand over the planet to our next generation.