The internet is a great course of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all the information reliable on the internet? What could be done to control information online?

The internet has let us ultimate access to information around the world. However, all of them might not be truly valid, there could be some steps to address this issue.

Firstly, it should be considered that the internet is an open platform for sharing data with no specific monitor by any authority. So it is probable to have some invalid contents, no matter inadvertently or deliberately they have been put on. For example, during the pandemic disease in 2020, it was suggested to use a hairdryer in front of the nose as a way to prevent Coronavirus by some Youtube bloggers which turn out to be false soon after.

Secondly, there is a contentious debate about whether posts should be monitored or not. On the one hand, it is against liberty and freedom, on the other hand, it might endanger one’s life or healthiness. As an initial solution user should be taught to evaluate the creditability of information by means of critical thinking ability which could be developed by teachers at an early age. On a superior level, there should be some control by social network providers take Facebook as an example which eliminated false contents related to health and safety. And finally, users should know they could trust trustworthy websites such as news broadcasters which have mechanisms for a reliability check.

In conclusion, it is likely to face misinformation on the internet. Consequently, it is the consumer’s responsibility to make sure about the validity moreover, Social platform owners should set some strict policies in order to protect their validity.