Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Computerization has led to the massive use of social networks among people. I firmly believe this has had enormous adverse effects both on the person and the whole society.

On a micro level, networking applications have a negative effect on one’s achievement. To be more precise, these applications are designed to be addictive in order to bring loyal users and a sustainable revenue stream accordingly. This key feature makes people waste their time online, which could be spent on a more appropriate way. For example, I spent more than twenty hours online on a weekly basis last year which was obviously enough to learn a new language. Hence, although it may connect people from all over the world, it is too time-consuming which hinders us from more important tasks.

On a macro level, people are persuaded to post some fancy pictures of their quality times that results in the great depression in society. In other words, users unconsciously compare their lives with the images they may see online and the gap makes them unhappy which can lead to depression in long term. On the other hand, eventually, some may lose their ability to enjoy the moment because they are always concerned about their posts and likes. My teenage cousin, for instance, is a Facebook lifestyle blogger that suffers from obesity caused by depression.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the idea that social networks have had more negative effects than positive outcomes on both society and users. Obsessive mental preoccupation which prevents the person from the living moment now and massive widespread sadness could be named as some catastrophic affections.