There is an increasing trend of old people living longer in many countries around the world.

Do you think this has a positive or a negative effect on the population as a whole?

Elder people are living longer nowadays in a vast number of nations worldwide. Although I firmly believe that this could be a positive trend because it shows a country well-being condition, this could result in some financial and social shortcomings for countries.

Firstly, the extension of life expectancy is an event of a country financial, health and welfare life conditions. As long as a country is able to meet its people fundamental and lucrative demands, this is more likely to hike its living expectancy rate. West European countries are sound examples of this phenomenon where life expectancy is relatively higher than that of Asian and African in which life expectancy is gravely low. Moreover, while people could live more, they are given more chance to spend time with the loved ones which is beneficial for both sides. Children, for example, have more chance to spend time with their grandees while their parents must not be able to allocate enough time to them. Accordingly, this rising trend could be considered as a positive one from these perspectives.

Conversely, this trend can have some drawbacks such as high pressure on a country economy. In fact, the more a country have elder people, the more it should pay salaries to them. This will not only be resulted in asking for higher tax from working population but also put higher pressure on utilities and commodity which need to be provided for elder ones. A vivid example of this is Germany where working people pay 70 percent of their salaries because the older population account for one third of its people and they could not work to pay tax. In addition, while people live longer, it requires more consideration form younger generation. This will undoubtedly result in youngers tiredness which will affect their happiness and daily life.

As the phenomenon is a sign of sound living condition of a nation and could never be considered as a negative trend, for the shortcomings it might have some solutions must be fund and actions must be done.