It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantage and disadvantages of this?

In recent times, an increasing number of students are taking a gap year. While this trend helps students in getting benefits in many ways, there are also certain limitations that need to be considered. Both the advantages as well as the disadvantages will be dicussed in this essay.

On the one hand, taking a year's break can be beneficial for students in multiple ways. Students can effectively spend this valuable time visiting different countries, leading to a better understanding of different cultures. This helps them to learn the cultural differences and apply this valuable knowledge in their prospective jobs. Additionally, students can also get a chance to work in industry and learn invaluable work experience. This enables them to understand the current workforce demands, enabling them to make informed decision for further studies.

On the other hand, Taking a gap year may have adverse effect on students as well. There is a good chance that students will not go back to the college for further studies as they may have started earning money and might find it difficult to leave and go for further study, which can affect their career in long-run. Morever, they may find that their friends have moved ahead by a year or more in their studies, which may create a sense of discouragement, forcing them to make new friends who are possibly younger than them.

Overall, Taking a gap year may be challenging decision, it has to be made by considering all the different aspects it may impact in long term, and the decision should be taken at individual level.