Some people believe that to protect local culture, tourism should be banned in some areas whereas others think that change is inevitable and banning tourism will have no benefits.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Tourism plays a vital role in modern civilization, allowing people from different cultures to meet and exchange their way of life. This activity does have its own demerits. This forces some people to recommend restricting tourist to visit certain places, which seems to be a controversial tactic. This essay will discuss its advantages and disadvantages and will provide a concluding view.

On the one hand, those who support the ban argue that tourists being outsiders are unable to understand the culture and heritage of the country. Travelers may be reluctant to follow local culture and traditions and bring their culture, causing a possible erosion to local culture. Travelers may litter or even worse, damage the places. The example can be seen in the Taj Mahal monument located in Agra, where many ignorant tourists have inscribed their names or signs, damaging the aesthetic beauty of the monument. Furthermore, being unaware of the significance of certain places or customs, they may hurt the sentiments of local community unknowingly, leading to anger as well as anxiety among the local population. Therefore, they advise that tourists should be banned from at least some places, which are regarded as sacred due to religious or historical reasons. This may lead to a win-win situation for tourists as well as indigenous people.

On the other hand, those who oppose the ban question its effectiveness. They suggest that the world has become so interconnected due to technology, it is practically impossible to restrict the cultural convergence. In addition to helping the local economy, tourists also bring ideas as well as innovations which can be useful for the locals, providing an added advantage. In fact, these type of restrictions, cannot save damages done by local visitors.

Moreover, tourism may greatly affect by this ban, because most of the time, these places are the main attractions for the tourists, hurting the local economy.

In conclusion, banning tourists from certain places looks an attractive option at first, this tends to be ineffective in long-run due to different reasons discussed in this essay. From my point of view, we should refrain from using this tactic and should look for other solutions to protect local culture and traditions as well as the historically significant places, because disadvantages of this tactic seem to outweigh the advantages.