Since population is rapidly increasing in the world, there is an acute shortage of houses in the big cities. Should we construct multistory buildings in the existing cities or should we develop suburbs and new cities in the countryside? Give your opinion

In the last two decades, an ever-increasing population in cities has put an immense pressure on the authorities to work on a sustainable solution to address this menace.

While some people argue that we should focus on creating the vertical cities to solve the problems, others do not see it as a viable option and recommend developing suburbs instead. Both the approaches have their distinct advantages as well as disadvantages which will be discussed in this essay with concluding remarks.

On the one hand, living in a city with tons of multi-story buildings does have its own perks. In the vertical city, city dwellers often find all the amenities located in a closer distance. For example, shopping malls, hospitals, schools, and cinema are generally situated in the proximity in this model. This allows citizens to avail these facilities in a shorter time. The vertical city model focuses on redevelopment of existing buildings, leading to a limited impact on the environment. However, city-dwellers also face increased realty prices due to lack of space available. Mumbai and New York are the prime examples of this situation, forcing dwellers to pay a higher price and probably forcing them to live in a smaller apartment. More multi-story buildings mean more inhabitants living in an already congested area, putting an increased pressure on city architecture including the transport systems.

On the another hand, realty prices are more affordable in the horizontal cities. Developing suburbs has the potential to create affordable housing for all the inhabitants, especially the low-income group. This may lead to a relief in congestion in the city center if employment opportunities are also available in the suburbs. Although dwellers may have to travel greater distances to avail various facilities, they may ignore this drawback over the advantages being offered by this model. The environmental damage can also be limited by developing the suburbs provided that authorities are focused on preserving the nature.

In summary, after comparing the merits and demerits of these approaches, I opine that authorities should focus on encouraging the development of suburbs than focusing on developing multi-story buildings in the city as this tends to make the inhabitants live comfortably and with lesser stress levels.