The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harm to the individuals and the society as a whole To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, newsrooms are inclined to cover negative news in contrast to positive news reporting. This surely has a great influence not only at a personal level but also at a community level. I strongly agree that the media should cover good news equally for the betterment of society.

Admittedly, the idea of focus on the issues does have its merits, including the raising awareness about the issues being faced by societies, leading to forcing the authorities to act on these issues to avoid facing public anger. Nevertheless, The gravest danger of the unbalanced coverage of negative news creates a negative mindset in the community, which are bombarded with tons of bad news on the daily basis. This may lead to a pessimistic attitude in dealing with the situation. For example, viewers may perceive that the government is not working efficiently and diligently if media only present failures as well as corruption cases against the government without mentioning its achievements.

Additionally, media houses are more interested in covering heinous crimes, which can sensationalize the masses, leading to better readers or viewers. This activity, however, may have a daunting impact on the masses. For instance, people watching murders and robbery incidents on the routine basis may feel insecure about their safety all the time, which may lead to an increased stress level and existential fears. Finally, there are many unsung heroes in the society, who mostly never make it to headlines or breaking news. This may undermine the appreciation they should receive, leading to the discouragement in spite of good deeds done by them. Sharing their story in media not only motivates them but also inspire others to work for society.

To sum up, being one of the pillars of democracy, media houses should behave responsibly for the upliftment of the society by giving enough coverage to heroes who work for a better tomorrow as well as the positive incidents which may bring a new hope to the community.