It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future?Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that in some countries the number of senior people is growing steadily. It is undeniable that the issue has some benefits and drawbacks, but I personally believe that it has more drawbacks and the following essay will discuss them in details.

On the one hand, the increasing number of older people in a country shows some positive aspects. Firstly, it means that the healthcare system in the country is quite high, the economic condition of the people is better and citizens have a better lifestyle than those in other countries. Senior people with better economic conditions are able to purchase healthier foods and consume enough vitamins, which are essential for maintaining their health level. Secondly, it also shows that the government has successfully provided a better medication for the senior people. As the quality of the public health services improves, it means that more and more old people are being fairly treated. Consequently, they could maintain their health level and have a longer life expectancy. Some sectors like teaching, research and politics require extensive experience and the older people in such countries can contribute to these sectors.

On the other hand, the growing number of senior citizens also has some negative consequences. As the number of the old people increases, the government has to provide a higher budget for retirement houses and medical services. These funds are collected from taxes from other citizens. If the ratio of older people increases in a country, then the percentage of working class people decreases and that has a direct impact on the economic progress of the country. Lastly, the country will also face population density problem. As the medication and health facilities improve, the mortality rate of the country also increase, and it would cause a serious population problem for the country.

In conclusion, despite all the advantages, increasing number of senior people in a country has some disadvantages as well. I personally believe that a country should focus on maintaining a balanced ratio for the population of different age groups.