It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

agree?

A habit of reading is far better than watching television to develop one's skill of imagination. I completely agree with this because of the following reasons.

Firstly, while reading a book, the person appears to be more creative. A reader always makes his brain to work by thinking and visualizing the content he or she read. For example, when a book of crime story is read, the reader enjoys the moments by thinking about the characters and scenes of that particular situation. This thinking power is the result of the work done by the reader's brain. In other words, a habit of reading opens the possibilities of imagination in a human mind and helps the reader to be more creative and intelligent. Moreover, in reading a book's content, the reader goes through most of the book's words, which helps to build useful vocabulary and language skills. This habit helps develop the qualities of an individual and shape the reader into a better person.

On the other hand, watching TV kills the possibilities of creative development and makes the viewer lazy. While watching a television program, the person does not need to imagine and visualize the scenes, which are already there. There is no need to improvise any instance like what people do while reading a book or article. Besides, watching TV cultivates laziness and promotes a sedentary lifestyle among the viewers, which causes deadly health issues such as obesity. This trend is a severe threat to human lives who are now becoming victims of watching TV and other digital platforms for longer hours. Other than instantaneous visual information, TV is of no use in developing personal attributes like creative and linguistic skills.

In conclusion, reading is preferred to watching TV, as a useful habit for developing language skills and creativity among individuals. Reading content always refreshes the brain and its abilities, whereas prolonged staring at TV screens can only harm our health. It is hoped that the younger ones concentrate more on reading to TV to develop their attributes.