It is observed that in many countries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? And what will be effected on society?

The preference for learning science subjects by aspirants in many a nation seems to be very low. Perhaps, it is the dwindling job opportunities and explored possibilities of art subjects which might be causing this. Society appears to accumulate with art professionals, and there would be a shortage of science experts among people.

There are mainly two reasons behind the trend of students not opting for science streams. Firstly, career opportunities in the field of science appear to diminish over these years because of the growing demand for economics and banking sector jobs. For example, a scientist draws a lesser salary than a bank executive these days. Secondly, it is observed that during the last decade, professions in the field of art subjects have reached new heights. With the freedom and work culture, this stream has won the hearts of many students. Product design, advertising, and literature have proved to be offering a lucrative career to youngsters today.

Trendsetters definitely affect society. People are likely to start more institutions for art subjects whereas courses offering science by colleges appear to go down. This eventually would supply umpteen art professionals to the community, and the dearth of science professionals would be on the discourse then. In India, students going for bank exam coaching has shown a sharp rise over the last decade by a survey conducted by the National Council of Education and Research.

In conclusion, the shift of interest of students from science to arts is purely born out of the change of job demands and work nature. Society would be facing an indefinite proportion of science and art professions in the coming days.