It is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful Architects should not worry about producing as a work of art Do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, it is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful. The infrastructures being built in recent times are focused more on quality rather than beauty. It is expedient that, while building structures, a lot of attention should be paid to everything needed to give that structure good quality.

For instance, we have had series of events this year in Nigeria where infrastructures that were built have collapsed to the ground. Things like these will always occur because we have focused more on making the building beautiful rather than focusing on the quality which is more important. Deaths and accidents can be avoided due to good quality buildings. The main aim of a building should not be how beautiful it is; but, the main aim should be to build this structure to serve its purpose.

Architects should not worry about producing as a work of art. Further, they should focus on the components required for quality buildings. It would be a nightmare when an architect’s production is a good work of art ,but, afterwards, receives word that his just concluded project has been leveled down to the ground. For example, an architect should prefer to build a reinforced pillar instead of building a beautiful pillar. After a building has reached completion, the builder is more concerned with how long the building will stand. Quality before beauty!

In conclusion, I agree that it is more important for a building to serve a purpose than to look beautiful and Architects should not bother about producing as a work of art. It is good for a building to look beautiful but it is a better investment for a building to serve its purpose.