It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such
as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?
As technology has developed, people can now travel to remote natural areas. While this
trend is beneficial to some extent, I would argue that its disadvantages are more significant.
On the one hand, visiting isolated natural places has some benefits. Firstly, this is a newer
and more interesting type of travelling. Since going to other cities or countries has been
too common for most people, it might be more exciting for them to explore new places
such as the South Pole or the Amazon rainforest. This gives them valuable experiences and
unforgettable memories. Secondly, when visiting remote areas, people, especially
scientists, might acquire more knowledge about the natural habitat. For example, when
coming to the North Pole, scientists can learn about the life of polar bears which live far
away from humans.
On the other hand, I believe this development has far more drawbacks. The first one is that
travelling to remote natural areas can be risky if the travellers are not sufficiently prepared.
For instance, the temperature at the South Pole is usually very low, which adversely affects
people's health. Travelling to forests can also be dangerous as people have to face the risk
of being attacked by animals. Also, since visiting isolated places often requires a large
amount of investment in researching and ensuring the safety of travellers, the costs of
travelling tend to be high. Therefore, it seems like only scientists and rich people can afford
this activity, so this development is likely to benefit only a small group of individuals.
In conclusion, I believe the disadvantages of people being able to travel to remote areas
outweigh its advantages.