It is observed that shopping on the internet is increasing in its popularity. Why is it so? Is it a good or bad development?

Indubitably, with the advent of technology, the online shopping trend has become famous among individuals in this modern world. It is often argued that many people are doing shopping online instead of physically visiting stores in the market. However, it is constructive as a destructive trend.

On the one side, Apparently, buying things from online websites holds a wide range of constructive benefits. First and foremost the online shopping offers a variety of options from different stores. For instance, if a customer wishes to buy jeans from Amazon, Flipkart, or any other online platform, he or she can get select the different brands with their comfort sizes in consonance with their price range. Besides, you do not have to visit stores in the market because it offers the availability of limited options. Secondly, consumers find online shopping websites convenient and efficient because they can take a virtual tour of shopping at any time from anywhere around the world with the help of Smartphones. For example, in the post-Covid world, people preferring to buy products from online websites while taking a virtual tour of shops instead of going to the market. According to the BBC survey, 90% of the world's population buys their product of interest from e-commerce websites because of multiple benefits and services which are provided from time to time.

On the flip side, it has myriad detrimental effects. Chiefly, sometimes consumers lost faith while shopping online due to the poor quality of the product which was not mentioned earlier by the manufacturers. However, e-commerce companies have taken care of this problem by adding two sections to their websites. One is the customer feedback section and another one is the returning policy options of items. Moreover, over the past few years, the advancements in technology have provided benefits to scammers to fraud with people. Therefore, it is necessary to be aware while buying things online on the internet.

To recapitulate, the popularity has been increasing among customers to shopping online instead of going to shops in the commercial market. Yet, there remains some disagreement whether this overall effect has been a positive or negative development.