Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent you agree or disagree

It is an undeniable fact that the rising number of automobiles has increased the air pollution in the environment, majorly in cities. It is often argued that increasing the cost of petroleum will solve this problem. However, I partially agree with this notion as increasing fuel prices will eventually affect other things such as transportation costs.

Air pollution is one of the primary environmental problems in the city because of the rising number of cars and other vehicles on roads. People feel convenient and comfortable while computing to workplaces with their private automobiles. Due to this, there is heavy traffic congestion on the roads, especially in peak hours. With this effect, the quality of air in the city gets polluted. However, this can be sustained by other initiatives rather than focusing to increase fuel prices for individuals. For instance, the CM of New Delhi in India came up with an idea to run an odd-even system for citizens on roads while traveling with their private automobiles. This system was primarily focused on controlling the traffic on roads, which later on showed an effect on the air quality index.

Moreover, if the government will increase taxes on petrol, it will eventually increase the transportation cost of goods. As a result, the cost of goods will increase and middle-class man will find hard to run a family with necessities. For example, in India, increasing fuel prices have led to rising in poverty among Indians. According to a BBC survey, n India, yearly one percent of the population is dying due to hunger for the past few decades. Therefore, country leaders should take other initiatives for sustaining and solving the climatic conditions.

In conclusion, indubitably, transportation cost is directly proportional to the products which are inter exchanging within states or between countries. If the price of fuel will increase, similarly the transport taxes will increase. Hence, increasing fuel prices can solve the environmental problems by reducing the traffic on roads, but will increase the price of goods and other commodities that can lead to other problems in the society.