It is observed that shopping on the internet is increasing in its popularity. Why is it so? Is it a good or bad development?

Indubitably, shopping online is rapidly increasing day-by-day among people. As every coin has two sides, there are pros and cons with such kind of ongoing trend of online shopping. The following essay will discuss that why people prefer to buy products online which have gained popularity as well as the merits and demerits of this development.

To commence with, the three main reasons made the e-commerce business popular in society. Firstly, a certain number of people, do not like to shop outside in the commercial markets because they prefer to stay inside their house. By staying inside the house, they can shop online with the help of the internet. Secondly, online shopping can be done anytime and anywhere from around the world. Thirdly, e-commerce websites such as Amazon, Flipkart provide to explore multiple options with different price ranges and brands to consumers whereas commercial stores have only limited options available with them. Finally, online shopping companies have also provided cash delivery options to their customers. In this way, the individuals who are preferring to shop online need to worry about giving credit card details online to the e-commerce websites portal. Therefore, the above all reasons justifies the vogue of online shopping among the general public.

With this kind of development, there are two prime benefits to shop online instead of going to markets for buying products. Chiefly, the reduction of traffic congestion on roads and overcrowding in shopping malls. Additionally, it has provided tremendous choices of the list of items on e-commerce platforms because it is a big boon with the help of technological world. However, sometimes the quality of the product as mentioned online does not fulfill by some of the manufacturers as they want to make money and do not sell the good quality of goods online. But, this problem has been solved by e-commerce online portals by providing feedback options and return policy options on each and every product that is listed on their websites.

To conclude, in my opinion, the rising demand for shopping on the internet is a good development for society.