It is often said that retirement is the happiest time of a person’s life. How far do you agree with this view?

Nowadays, there is an opinion asserting that it is retirement which is the most satisfying period of a person’s life. Personally, I utterly disagree with the given statement on the basis of some compelling reasons which will be discussed in detail.

To begin with, retired people have to put up with numerous challenges regarding their situations. Firstly, as they grow older, their general health conditions deteriorate in a way that they struggle with some health-related illnesses, including heart problems, high blood pressure and diabetes. These in turn take their tolls on their mobility, as well as their physical and mental comfort compared to earlier stages of their lives. Secondly, they are bound to suffer from poorly financial conditions, even if they have saved a decent reserve of funds during their adulthood; because the cost of their medical care, which promotes significantly within the old age, is by no means negligible, and their pensions and savings are not quite enough to cover such expenses. In such circumstances, it is not surprising that some of them are obliged to do another job during retirement to afford the cost of living and medical care. For instance, some taxi drivers and grocers are retired people. Lastly, when individuals retire, they break away from the public life and physical activities; the former can result in isolation and depression, and the latter can lead to a sedentary and an unhealthy lifestyle.

It might be said that there are some benefits to retirement, most notably the chance to get away from the strain of working life and the time to pursue personal interests. However, it seems for many older people, these pleasures are outweighed by the issues associated with retirement.

To conclude, I hold the view that the problems of health, financial concerns and loneliness contribute to make retirement a challenging period for many, particularly when compared to other phases of their lives.