It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media.

What do you think is the reason for the growth in the rate of juvenile crime?

What solution can you offer to deal with this situation?

In recent years, the escalation of juvenile delinquency has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this can be caused by a whole host of reasons, including violent contents of media, some feasible solutions can be considered to address the issue. there are cited reasons why juvenile crime is increasing recently. first, since questionable media’s contents, such as violent games and videos, are at disposal, adolescents will tend to imitate the violent scenes in their daily life. In fact, playing violent games or watching violent videos for a long time will make people’s characters become more aggressive, thus they tend to resolve the conflicts by violence. second, with the development of social media, a growing number of criminal recruitment have been held through social network which targeting to vulnerable young adult. Plenty of evidence suggested that these sensitive young adults are willing to break the law due to these crime organizations’ manipulation, which makes them become offenders unconsciously.

Despite the serious situation, there will be some considerable measures for this problem. first, in order to control media’s contents for adolescents, government should invest in the sensor system that can identify whether a video or game content violent scenes and unsuitable for the youth or not. For example, with a good sensor system, one youngster will not find any violent scenes on the internet to copy, which can mitigate his or her violent or aggressive reactions. second, by spending time on their sons or daughters, parents can listen to them, empathize with their sadness or disappointment sometimes. this means that adolescents will not feel lonely and vulnerable, thus preventing themselves from taking part in crime organizations online.

In conclusion, juvenile delinquency is an extremely difficult problem for any countries, which cannot be resolved without joint actions of government and families. By considering suitable solutions, each country will have its best decisions to reverse the pattern.