It seems clear that obesity in today’s society is to some extend due to the availability of fast food.

Should governments place a tax on fast food to reduce the amount of fast food consumed ?

The consumption of junk foods has increased significantly over the past few decades due to the availablity of fast food chains and junk food stores on the streets, which resulted in people becoming obese day by day. Whether authorities impose a tax on fast foods to discourage people from eating fast food or not is a debatable matter. I deem that it is an effective solution to stop people from eating unhealthy foods.

First and foremost, the major reason behind the fast-food consumption is that it is extremely cheaper than healthy meals. A vegetable salad with cottage cheese or meat, for example, is twice or thrice more expensive while comparing to junk food such as burger. Ultimately, people choose ready-to-eat foods from the market or purchase junk foods directly from fast food stores to save money. In my opinion, the cost of healthy food should be less and that can be achieved by imposing a heavy tax on fast food products, consequently, people will change their eating habits and that will lead to a healthier society.

Another way to reduce the consumption of fast food is to restrict the number of junk food stores in a perticular city or area, by which, people will have less options to purchase unhealthy foods. Moreover, healthy food chains should be promoted by government and made tax-free, so they can avail healthy foods at cheaper rates for the people.

In recapitulation, it can be said that the policy to impose heavy tax on junk foods can be a game changer to resolve the burning issue of the increased number of overweight people. At the same time, I reckon, governments should not neglect the importance of making healthier food affordable for common people.