It is sometimes said that ‘travel broadens the mind’. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

As the standards of living have continued to improve, travelling has assumed a significant role in our daily lives. Consequently,

it is sometimes said that "travel broadens the mind" and I wholeheartedly agree with this statement for a number of reasons.

The primary reason how travel can broaden the mind is because it exposes individuals to new cultures. When people visit a new place, they can have the opportunity to learn new customs and traditions. For example, when I studies in Malaysia 20 years ago, I discovered that Muslim people do not eat pork or touch dog and their new year is celebrated during the middle. Prior to this experience, I had the misconception that Muslims were associated with terrorism. However, interacting with local people in Malaysia changed my perspective, as I found them to be friendly and peace-loving individuals. In other words, travelling can broaden one's mind in a way that books or visual information cannot always convey.

Furthermore, traveling can challenge people to step outside of their comfort zones, try new things, and develop new skills and interests. When living in a new area, people must adapt by improving their communication skills to ask for information and arrange their accommodation. They also have to develop problem-solving skills to overcome obstacles that they may not encounter in their home country. Through these experiences, they can strengthen their skills, build independence and achieve future success.

In conclusion, I personally believe that travelling brings about numerous positive results such as broadening mind and pushing boundaries to what were previously considered to be impossible.