It was predicted that people in the 21st century would have much more free time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether the people in the 21st century get more free time than the primitive era? Although the technological advancements and access to latest gadgets has certainly made life easier for the current generation, however, I don’t think that the current generation has more free time that the people of primate era. In this essay I will discuss both the views and then explain that why I don’t agree about the latter.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of logical reasons that prove that the people have access to machines that perform better in terms of quality and quantity when compared to the manual work. Time and effort to do daily jobs of laundry and vegetable chopping can be performed within a fraction of seconds. For example, a housewife of primitive time with a home maker of 21st century the work efficiency with the help of modern machines has certainly reduced the work load by almost one tenth of what it used to be in the past. There is a dough maker, bread maker, food processor, automatic washing machine, dish washer to the aid. Furthermore, work of men at workplace is also reduced. Earlier calculations and register work consumed so much time and sometime a small mistake could ruin the whole work of a bank accountant. However, such task can be performed within hours on a computer table.

On the contrary some people believe that free time has increased but the free time is wasted by younger generation in useless activities such as mobile phones. But has the free time for the people in the 21st century really increased? I doubt! With increase in the work efficiency people are provided heaps of more work in the office. For instance, most of the females prefer to work in offices instead of becoming a housewife. Considering the nine hours work shift, commute time, cooking time everything is preplanned as a daily routine. The slightest free time that the new generations get post work hours, they spend it by being constantly glued to their mobile phones where they need to gain social approval from their Facebook friends. Issues of loneliness, anxiety and suicide rate has increased three fold than the past.

In conclusion, I believe that improvement in work efficiency has only increased the work threefold for the people. The current generation hardly gets free time as the busy daily routine keeps them on toes. Would the modern technology ever be able to help us get free time? Still remains a question.