Languages are dying out all the time. The result of this is a world with fewer languages. This is a good thing for people everywhere.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unfortunately, today, a large number of languages have gradually vanished out as a few languages have been dominated as international languages. I am personally of the opinion that this trend can be disappointed and will discuss my reasons in the following.

As some reasons to support my view, firstly, the identity and culture of numerous countries might be demolished. In fact, language is part of any country’s identity. As a matter of fact, in any culture, myriad amazing stories and poems have been quoted with native tongue about their ancestors, heroes, and customs. In case, the native language in those countries was be substituted with dominant languages, sooner or later, next-generation would lose their history and traditional culture. Moreover, some job opportunities might be disappeared as well. To illustrate this vividly, currently, some individuals are occupied as interpreters in a variety of companies and organizations to make communication comfortable and efficient between foreigners.

Nevertheless, some individuals agree with having an international common language among all nations. The main reason for this idea is that people are able to make friends with others overseas. As a matter of fact, they believe that they are able to efficiently communicate with foreigners and understand their feeling. Although this might be true to some extent, people can resolve this issue by learning one and two dominant languages such as English or French to socialize with people in other countries.

To conclude, although nowadays, speaking with a common language is not avoidable, as we need to make relationships with people around the world for friendship and business, we also ought to try to keep our native language alive to pass our culture and custom to youngsters.