Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does it cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Two days ago, I read an article about the influence of big enterprises on the local market. The author stated that corporations widely use both promotion and advertisement to change public preferences in shopping. This essay will consider the problems of this change and suggest solutions to stimulate people to buy domestic goods.

The first problem is the detrimental pressure on domestic companies. When a corporation opens its branches in a region, many local entrepeneurs start to suffer from the unequal competition with it, since they have insufficient finding either to introduce themselves more in the media nor hold promotions more frequently. This results in them gradually losing customers and eventually stopping their activity in the market. Another problem with the entry of large corporations into the area is growing prices. Once the dominance in the market is achieved by various advertising campaigns, large businesses tend to gradually increase the prices for their products. This leads customers to overpay.

Nevertheless, the government could support local manufacturers. To arouse public interest in buying local products, the government should introduce them to the public. Generally, it is hardly possible to find the information about domestic producers on TV and radio, since they do not have as much budget for advertisement as corporations. However, if the government supported them by freely advertising local producers on the state channels, they would have the opportunity to present their local products to the public. Consequently, society would be aware of local products and choose them the next time. Furthermore, the state could both subsidize and exempt local manufacturers from a few taxes, so that they would be able to lower their prices and expand their production.

In conclusion, even though large companies pose many problems to the local market, the government could raise public awareness of local products by