Violence in the media promotes violence in society.

To what extent do you agree?

Mass media plays an important role in the public. However, some community workers argue that is cruel episodes in media can encourage members of society to act abnormally. This essay disagrees with their point of view.

Let us start with the reasons why sociologist think that cruel scenes in media cause violence in society. The first cause is that young people take the atrocity on TV for granted. Scenes of violence may convince the youth to believe that assaulting others is normal in society. Another argument is that it encourages some parents to abuse their children. Watching how parents ruthlessly treat families on TV shows may motivate people to act the same against their household members. Furthermore, the fear of being violated as the victims of cruelty on mass media frequently encourage people to carry weapons as a measure of self-defense. People tend to want to protect themselves as well as their relatives by either guns or knives, when they watch violent scenes on television, but this redundant protection often tempt the owners to use it in petty scuffles.

Nevertheless, some media presenters advocate the idea that the effect of violence on TV screens is exaggerated by sociologists. First of all, there are other sources of violence in life. Media shows brutal conduct, but they may have a low psychological effect in comparison to other sources of information. Secondly, well-bred people tend to avoid watching programs, which encourage cruelty. Mentally stable people usually prefer to resolve disagreements peacefully, no matter whether they watch TV programs narrating violent stories. Finally, violent behavior described in media can teach audience what is unacceptable in a health society. Some young people, for instance, are unaware of what abnormal behavior is in the public; however, such shows can enlighten them about it.

In conclusion, although some social workers believe that cruelty displayed on TV causes atrocious behavior in real world, I think that cruelty can occur regardless of what is highlighted on media outlets.