Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does it cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Two days ago, I read an article about the influence of big enterprises on local habit of shopping. Some economists state that they are changing it through advertising. This essay will consider the difficulties of this change and suggest steps to stimulate people to purchase domestic goods.

The first problem is the closure of small companies. When a corporation opens in the region, many smaller entrepeneurs start to suffer from an unequal competition with it. Another problem with large businesses is high prices. Once a negligible rivalry in the market is reached, they gradually increase the prices for products and services. The last problem is a monotony in products. As soon as corporation dominates in the market, it has no interest in attempting to offer alternative products.

One of the measures to arouse public interest in buying local products is for the government to introduce them to the market. Generally, it is hardly possible to find the information about regional producers, since they do not have as much budget for advertisement as big business. Despite this, the government could support them by allocating some time for small business to show their local products on state channels. This results in domestic manufacturers to be known to society and to be able to compete with large business.

In conclusion, large companies pose many problems to the local market by smashing small businesses, increasing prices and providing no options . However, the government could raise public awareness of local products by showing the products of internal manufacturers.