Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does it cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Two days ago, I read an article about the influence of big enterprises on the local market. The author states that both promotion and advertisement, which are widely used by wealthy corporations, affect their preferences in shopping. This essay will consider the problems of this change and suggest steps to stimulate people to purchase domestic goods.

The first problem is the pressure on domestic companies. When a corporation opens its branches in the region, many individual entrepeneurs start to suffer from the unequal competition with it since they have insufficient finding either to introduce themselves in the media nor hold promotions. Another problem corporations in the area is growing prices. Once the dominance in the market is reached by various advertising campaigns, large businesses gradually increase the prices for their products and services. The last problem is a narrow range of products available. As soon as corporations prevail in the market, they hinder the entry of other companies into the market. As a result, people can neither enjoy other high-quality products devised by other companies nor do shopping at a lower price.

One of the measures to arouse public interest in buying local products is for the government to introduce them to the market. Generally, it is hardly possible to find the information about domestic producers, since they do not have as much budget for advertisement as big ones. Despite this, if the government supported them by allocating some time for small companies on state channels, they would have the opportunity to show their local products to the public. Consequently, domestic manufacturers would be well known to society and be able to compete with large businesses. Furthermore, the state could both subsidize local manufacturers and exempt them from some taxes, so they would be able to lowers their prices and expand their production.

In conclusion, large companies pose many problems to the local market by decreasing the number of small businesses, increasing prices and providing no options to consumers. However, the government could raise public awareness of local products by showing their products of internal manufacturers. In addition, it could help them by money and exemption from taxes.