Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think that it is a waste of time.

Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In Kazakhstan, there is a concern in society about the importance of art subjects since they occupy more than twenty wife percent of the time children spend studying at school. Some teachers think that these disciplines are important to teach at school while others claim that they are unproductive. This essay agrees with the idea that art is redundant in school curriculum for the following reasons.

The main reason why I think that art subjects are not beneficial for schoolchildren is that there are more important subjects to study at schools. After they graduate from school, many young people get employed as engineers, economists, and lawyers. Therefore, while they are at school, they should be studying more necessary subjects like maths, physics and history than music and literature, which are practically useless to their future employment. For example, as part of experiment, some schools, in Karaganda city, substituted art subjects with vocational subjects to see how fast the students could find jobs as soon as they left school. The result exceeded the expectancy because they had better qualifications than those students with no changes in curriculum.

However, some teachers claim that it is necessary for children to study art at school. By studying it, children would learn to appreciate the beauty of the world. If art were excluded from school syllabus, then pupils would be unaware of beautiful pictures, songs and theater plays. Consequently, they would feel inferior to those who study art as an extra-curriculum activity. For example, in the former USSR, because they had not taught art at school, many students found it unpleasantly difficult to answer the questions, which are mostly regarding art, asked by students from the USA.

In conclusion, although art is essential in life, students can learn apart from school subjects. I believe that pupils should not study art disciplines and concentrate more on other subjects, such as physics and maths, as they can improve their career prospects.