Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In the present era, there is a trend seen where the schools are giving more priority to teach English, rather than the local languages. This essay will discuss why it is important for schools to focus on English language, but also keeping an eye that their local languages do not get forgotten.

English is a global language, and ignoring its significance will not help an individual, rather it will restrict the opportunities one can get. Although, most of the nations has their own language, English helps maintaining a common link between all countries, which is the reason it is described as a business language. For example, nowadays multinational companies have made it mandatory for every person to communicate in English instead of their local language. As a result, this has helped people easily understand each other and increase the business efficiency.

Being a part of global world also means to protect the culture and heritage of a nation, which also includes the local language of that country. By teaching English at school along with local languages, people can ensure that traditions can be passed on to future generations, hence ensuring the diversity of the world and not compromising the opportunities. For example, India being a diversified country, people have many local languages as secondary languages in school and are also taught English as a primary language such as Punjabi, Marathi, etc. As a result, students neither miss an opportunity because of the lack of English language skills, nor let the heritage of local language die.

In the end, a nation can maintain its culture and match the modern trends at the same time by giving equal respect and priority to English language and the local language. This will not only help a single nation but also help the entire world by helping them understand and respect the differences, thus bringing them closer to each other.