In some cities there are few controls over the designs of new houses, buildings and offices and people are able to build whatever style of houses they want. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this development?

Over the past few years, we have seen less control in the designs of buildings built-in certain cities. While there are advantages and disadvantages of this development, in my opinion, minimum rules certainly have more negatives than the positives. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks followed by the conclusion.

Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of constructing a house by own choice. Firstly, as there are no rules to follow, one can build as many floors as they want. However, this situation is rare, only happening in certain countries. Secondly, this can give a unique identity to the city as there will be more classic and modern designs blended together. People in Lahore, for example, are allowed to build houses as they please which has given it a different identity among other cities of Pakistan.

Nevertheless, despite the above advantages, I believe that this can bring more drawbacks to society. One potentially dangerous disadvantage is that it can lead to a rivalry between neighbours on building and showcasing a better house. Another obvious issue is not considering the impacts of natural disasters like the Earthquake on buildings. When people do not have any fear of the law, they will never invest in the safety aspects of construction. For instance, research done by the students of Punjab University states that, in 2005, more people died because of violating building safety codes during the disastrous Earthquake that shook the entire northern region.

To conclude, the disadvantages of building houses without sufficient control of authorities far outweigh any of the minor benefits that could result from having no restrictions.