Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Today’s market scenario and interchanging of ideas are not limited to national boundaries, rather diversified; as a result, people have to expose themselves to multilingual environments. Although there are few demerits like social disparity, the merits have outnumbered the negatives, as per my opinion.

Well, earlier our businesses and culture were limited to our own country as we had hardly any means to exchange or expand our business. However, with the development of technology and transportation, people have started expanding their businesses; students have travelled to other countries in seeking better knowledge and education, which lead to cosmopolitan society. For instance, Japan was very conservative few decades ago, but to boost their economy they have to deal with other countries, that forced their workforce to learn English. As they have understand the need of changing their mind-set to cope up the growing competition, they maintain their superiority in the globe.

However, no one can deny the fact that it is extremely easy to exchange ideas in regional languages. A few people, who are unable to learn new foreign language such English, may face many problems in getting high paid jobs, as it demands the knowledge of additional language. Even after having skills to perform, language become barrier for this section of people, and with time, they are neglected by society. However, this can be eliminated from society by providing proper guidance and motivation.

To recapitulate, knowledge of foreign language is the need of the hour, and problem arising due to this can be overcome by proper education, support and motivation. Is it not easy to blame foreign language instead of understanding the need?