living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, living in other countries may cause people quite difficult challenges. One of the obstacles they would face is having to speak a foreign language. Which can sometimes cause severe social and practical problems. I consider such issues not to be unsolvable with the advancement of technology.

Speaking a foreign language is one of the essential functions for socializing while living abroad. Socializing and living in groups is in our nature and if one fails to make contact with others or not succeed in making friends, he or she could suffer from various social problems. Depression and isolation are some of the issues that people would face in the absence of friends.

In addition, one of the major issues in practical aspects where people feel the most pressure is in work-related areas. Those who are not able to fully understand and comprehend the employer’s need might lose their job or not even have the opportunity to find a job. For example, a person who wants to live in China should learn Mandarin; otherwise, working and living there would become near to impossible because most of its population do not speak other languages.

It is true that not being able to speak foreign languages while living abroad can cause problems. However, I believe that advances in technology have made a living in another country whose languages you do not know much easier. There are numerous applications in smartphones which help people do their daily task easier and faster regardless of the country they live in. Google translate is an example of the application which has made communication easier between users from different countries by allowing them to translate their native language into other languages.

In conclusion, although living in a country where one has to speak its language would not be without its hassles, but technology has aided people to tackle such problems to some extent. I believe people can easily take advantage of the new progress in technology.