Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Indubitably, it is hard for an immigrant to live in a foreign country because of not knowing the native language of a county. This could impact to biggest challenges in a person's life by dealing with the aspects of social and practical problems. And, I firmly concur with this notion because I will explain the challenges faced by migrants shifting into a new country.

To commence with, immigrants who do not speak the native language fail to understand the local culture and customs which leads to social problems. They hardly talk to locals and have little idea about the cultural diversity of the country. As a result, the consequences of lesser knowledge about the cultural diversity of a nation where immigrants are living fail to realize the rules and regulations and how residents feel in certain circumstances. For instance, the influx of immigrants in many European nations causes social problems because newly arrived migrants do not speak their local language. In many cases, the language barrier provokes misconceptions, social crises, discriminatory practices, and racism. Consequently, the foreigners develop an antipathy among other local people of the country.

Moreover, not knowing local languages results in making it harder for immigrants to find a direction, reading important notices, ordering food from the menu in restaurants, talking to local citizens, and asking for help in the event of an emergency. Apart from this, it is even tougher for a migrant to get a job that requires communicating with locals in the country. Therefore, this kind of problem where an immigrant finds it harder to get a job cannot be easily survived in a nation without learning a native language and understanding the culture and customs of a country.

To conclude, before migrating to a country, people should make the best effort to learn the native language of a nation which could make foreigners get to socialize with other residents who are locals of the country as well as could be able to earn their cost of living.