The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime.

Why do you think that is?

Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

Media plays a big role in the society. It is very often seen nowadays that news published in different source of media such as newspaper, news channels and social media is mostly the one which creates negative impression in the society. There are various reasons behind negative journalism such as quick publicity by playing with public sentiments, business. Media has a social responsibility to play therefore it should ensure that a proper balance between what is good or bad for the society has to be made while publishing any news which we will discuss in detail in the following paragraphs.

The content of the news is majorly negative due to number of reasons. Firstly, media house wants to gain quick popularity therefore they generally focus on publishing news which will attract public attention. Secondly, they focus on making profits rather than dealing with social values and sentiments of the mass. Moreover, the quality of journalism has deteroited over the past couple of years which has resulted in bad news being published in various media platforms.

It is extremely important that there should be a balance between good and bad content being reported to the society. It is equally important to highlight the positive things happening around the world and within our country because the sentiments of the public gets impacted by the information which they receive through different ways. In addition, media has a social responsibility to play because society follows the news published without authenticating the facts. It is generally assumed that information being available to the mass is true to the fact.

In conclusion, media has to ensure that they spread good news and bring harmony among the society by cautiously reporting the genuine information. In addition, they ensure that the religous sentiments of the particular sact of the community does not get hurt with the content being reported.