Many animals are facing extinction in the wild. Why is this happening? What can be done to protect them?

From the dawn of the twenty-first century, the topic of endangered species has remained in the limelight. Nowadays, numerous animals are at the brink of disappearance because of being hunted at an unprecedented rate. This essay suggests strict policies and conducive breeding programs as viable options in order to protect them.

Man has been hunting animals for ages; however, the motives behind it have changed radically. Whereas in the past, men used to kill an animal for food, now, they hunt animals for money-making and prestige. To be more precise, elephants are killed by poachers to obtain their tusks that are highly sought after in the black market whereas tigers and lions were hunted by kings of the previous century to show their bravery and fearlessness. Owing to this, many such animals are now limited to a population of few hundreds. Certainly, hunting of animals is the plausible reason for their extinction in the wild.

Even though this issue may seem intractable, solutions are available. Firstly, governments should establish special breeding programs to elevate the population of endangered species. For instance, the “Save The Lions” initiative by the Indian government proved to be instrumental in curbing the declining numbers of lions in India. Also, poachers and hunters should be given strict punishments to deter their activities. If these solutions are implemented, then numerous near extinction animals can be saved in the long run.

To conclude, many animals have disappeared, and some are about to disappear since they are preyed upon. It is time to take war-footing against culprits who are responsible for this, or otherwise, future generations might only be able to see these magnificent creatures in documentaries.