Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

Technology has made tremendous progress in various fields around the globe. It has been a boon to the society. The field of science has benefitted extensively by this progression. One of the best examples of the technological advancement is the invention of new medicines and cure of many deadly diseases. The diseases that were once considered non curable like rubella, measle and polios; are easily prevented at young age because of vaccines. But, the question is; should parents have liberty of not immunizing their children or government should have standard law for all the children to be immunized regarding common disease.

I believe the decisions of parents are affected by many factors. Uneducated parents might not be aware of the importance of immunization and might end up not giving their child vaccines that are necessary and thus risking the life of their children to vulnerable diseases. Some parents might opt out and not give immunization due to sheer negligence towards their children without realizing its future effects. On the other hand few parents to save money would not immunize their children.

If government would make immunization as compulsion for everyone, it would not only benefit the entire society but also reduce the death rate of children being affected by those diseases. Parents should be educated that rather wasting money and curing the disease later, it is advisable to take precautions at earlier stage through vaccination. Parents should be informed about the damages that these disease could lead, and also how preventing it through vaccination is the only solution.

To conclude, as it is said ‘Prevention is better than cure’, parents should be made aware importance of the immunization and also make it compulsion so that no child is affected through these deadly diseases. Government and school could work hand in hand in encouraging the parents to immunize their children who are the future of tomorrow.