In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe these measures restrict our individual freedom.

Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Surveillance equipments have been increasing in many cities in order to reduce crime but some people

may think these initiatives may decrease their individual freedom. This essay will argue the

advantage of outweighing the disadvantage. The essay will discuss first why people think their individual freedom might be hampered, followed by a discussion of why it is necessary to tackle crime through surveillance

People who are in favor of individual privacy argue that surveillance equipment may destroy their

individual freedom. They believe that they are continuously watched by the government and other private

security organization. The crime which is likely to happen definitely going to happen in the city

whether we install a security camera or not. For instance, ProthomAlo a famous newspaper in Bangladesh

reported that crime rates remain almost the same before installing the surveillance camera in the key area of Dhaka city called Shahbag.

On the other hand, those who are in favor of surveillance camera might bring the following reason.

The first reason, they put is security. When there is a camera available, they believe there is less

likely to chance any disorder as pickpocketing or robbery happens. For example, at Baridhara in

Dhaka almost every road is under CCTV footage which they believe one the reason to reduce crime.

Another reason they always think, if anything serious crime happens, this camera might be the key evidence to prove a crime. For instance, the brutal killing occurred in Borguna which drew us

medias attention very dramatically.

In conclusion, a surveillance camera is necessary to tackle the above-mentioned issues, despite that

some people opposition regarding the installation of CCTV cameras.