Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is often argued that universities should offer a mechanism so that student can get useful

knowledge and skills which are needed in the workplace. While other schools of thought believe that

it is student responsibility to grab knowledge for their own sake. This essay will discuss both these

views before a reasonable conclusion is drawn. The essay will first discuss functional courses that

will help them to grab a job, followed by a discussion of a more traditional tertiary education.

Some students enroll in a university to have a particular job in mind. In fact, what subject ensure

more security in the future, they are likely to take this subject. For example, a recent study by

The University of Dhaka found that 85% of students are truly likely to get some subjects like- Accounting,

Pharmacy, International Development, etc. which likely to brighten their future career.

However, the first option may not be suitable for everyone and many people have no idea what job

they would like to do when they become graduate. For these kinds of people, it is better to try

more unconventional subjects like Philosophy, International Business might be a better choice.

For example, The New York Times reported that only 50% of law graduates actually want to become lawyers

at the end of their studies.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that, a university should fulfill both these purpose to prepare students for the workforce and provide a system in which a person chooses later what the person likely to pursue in the future career. Whereas other pupils who do not have any specific career choice in mind pick up some unconventional subject

like philosophy.