Many countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their views?

In this day and age, some individuals hold a view that tourists from other countries might cause a couple of detrimental impacts. The reasons for this phenomenon vary, and it can be tackled in some particular ways.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some local citizens believe that foreign tourists lead to negative effects. The foremost reason is that international tourists might have a harmful influence on the local environment. Indeed, many travelers nowaday are criticized due to the fact that they are likely to dump waste and rubbish to the local habitat during their trips. Thus, it is deniable that they have contributed to the environment's pollution. Another factor that might be responsible for the unwelcomeness of local people for international tourism is the lack of reasonable knowledge of visitors for the local custom and culture. For example, a lot of visitors are wearing inappropriate clothes when going to some Asian countries, which is believed to encourage young generations to copy undesirable fashion.

On the other hand, there are certainly some measures that can be taken to change the local negative attitudes toward mass tourism. First and foremost, governments should enforce tourism industries to make sure that the local tourism operators are responsible for clearing litter and disposing of water in ways that do not harm the environment. If local citizens realize that visitors no longer cause detrimental harm for the habitat, this phenomenon might disappear. Secondly, tourists should be taught how to show their respect for the local orthodox culture. For example, foreign travelers should know some kind of clothes that are not suitable when going to some crucial place, such as pagodas or temples. Hence, this can avoid the angers of local people.

In conclusion, while the problem of harmful impacts from international tourism can be attributable to a range of causes, appropriate steps need to be taken to cope with the issues, not only by the government, but also individuals