In many countries senior positions have higher salaries compared to those of young workers of the same company. Some people think this isn’t justified. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a debate regarding the fact that in many companies around the world, people who have senior positions have the right of having best wages and receive more benefits than people who have just assumed a new position. I believe that salaries and all pertinent advantages offered by a company should be given according to the person’s abilities and competence and not because of his time of contribution to the organization.

On the other hand, I understand why people think that this statement is justified. There have been many instances in time where people were scared of the market out of the current company, so they stayed for many years watching their careers turning into a meaningless fade. Once the person had all those years working at the same position, it was necessary to elevate their wages even if their skills are not as effective as the ones of the new employees.

In addition, professionals who have been working at a company for a long period, have developed more confidence to perform a wild range of activities. Hence, they get more knowledge of the work that needs to be done and develop a closer relationship with their leaders, which makes them able to reach better positions with higher salaries.

Nowadays people have more confidence to persuade new careers, same as the companies that are becoming more open to bring new professionals to develop new projects and be more competitive in the market. An example of this is the graduate programs available in many multinational companies seeking to hire new professionals who have just finished university, but think outside the box, able to transform an organization.

In conclusion, I believe that all the benefits regarding wages and conditions in a company should be given according to the professional performance and not because they have a senior position.