Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the sorld. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

The effect of tobacco and many other legal drugs, which was always debatable, has now become controversial. The substantial influence of the consumption of cigarettes has sparked the controversy over the potential impact of this trend on adults who smoke in recent years. It can be agreed that the authorities are the main responsible for its legislation, therefore, they should protect the citizens from this unhealthy habit. This essay will elaborate on how the government play a crucial role in this matter.

At the outset, there are many reasons why the political leaders should be responsible for eliminating the tobacco from the market shelves, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that lung cancer is highly found on smokers. The authorities need to make laws more strict and increase the tax of the commercialization of these drugs in modern society. Small actions like those would prevent consumers from making use of it and enhance the health condition of its population.

Another key justification for this upholding notion is that banning tobacco from legal selling can increase the health of the community that also become more effective once stop smoking. For example, people who stop working to smoke a cigarette many times a day can be more productive, likewise, decrease the work absence due to illnesses related to breathing issues.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the government is the most influent character on the scenario of legalizing tobacco, therefore, the way it makes laws and approves it selling should not be overlooked.