In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe

that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries

above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s world, an individual can earn an enormous amount of money, which is multiple time higher than the average wage. While some contend that the government should limit people’s income, others support this trend and argue that it attributes to the economic growth. Personally, I am partial to the latter.

There are solid reasons why the government should apply a limit for individual’s income. First and foremost, the income gap between boss and employees are immense, which discourages workers from thriving for a better life. They find the situation to be unfair and there are not much they can do about it. Therefore, along with the introduction of a maximum paid wage, there should also be a higher minimum wage, this would help to fill the income gap between the rich and the poor. As a result, lower income households could afford a higher living standard while top paid individuals could maintain their wealth.

However, I am with those who advocate that people can earn as much as their capable of. One obvious reason is that enterprises could recruit talented employees, who require a high paid salary. Those who put in the time and work should have the right to receive what they deserve, this would encourage workers to put more effort into their job and grinding to be better everyday. In addition, when people start earning more, the tax revenue increase and thus the government could spend this money on building more infrastructure, such as hospital, parks, schools. Therefore, the overall well-being is improved and poor people could afford a better living standard.

In sum, although the income gap between classes in the society is expanding, the benefits of the rising income per individual are weightier. Rather than setting a limit for earning, more emphasis should be placed on improving the minimum wage