Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In this globally connected world, it is a common practice to import and export food items from and to other countries either it is far or is in the neighbourhood. It is being observed that some people consider the local food usage beneficial to the environment and to the economy. I also think there many advantage of prefering the local item over the imported item.

Firstly, the locally produce items are available for people immediately after the production, in result of which items are fresh when it come for consumption. Moreover, it would not effect our health and digestive system negatively. Consequently, the burden on the government for medical expenditure is decreases which is an important sector in expense list of the government.

Another major advantage is that it keeps revolving the economic cycle of the country. When we use our own produced crops, it helps the farmer which are counted as unprivilege citizen and the most needy section of the society. For instance, an agriculture based economy would comfortably get benefit from it.

Additionally, transportation cost of local transit is also a major factor which is way less than the importable item transition cost. While transportation globally produce more environmental hazzards, this would also increase the pollution on the planet. Therefore, it could also plays a critical role in reducing global warming.

The only drawback in relying on only locally develop items is its increased prices in the market but it is the case only when your country demand of a particular item is higher than the supply.

In conclusion, it is evident that the locally produce food items usage has positive impact on the economy of the country and the overall world environment. Therefore, it is certain that these advantages completely outweigh the disadvantages.