Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Food shipping has been capturing significant public attention in recent decades, raising questions of environmental and economic implications. Despite the disadvantages of local food consumption could be pronounced, they are still outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are many benefits when it comes to the usage of local food. From the environmental perspective, local food consumption is invariably associated with reduced automobile dependency for the importation and transportation of foreign food. Without the heavy flow of traffic for food shipping, the carbon dioxide concentrations in the atmosphere could be minimized, ensuring environmental sustainability. From the economic perspective, since local food producers would not have to incur the expenses of logistics related to cross-nation shipping fees or customs charges in the case of imported products, which are proved to be prohibitively expensive, the local food costs are relatively low. Consequently, low prices would fall into the affordability of many individuals irrespective of their purchasing powers, guaranteeing food securities on a massive scale.

On the other hand, local food consumption could be fraught with many pitfalls. First, in fact, many nations and regions are still grappling with civil warfare stemming from political turmoils and ethnic division. This means that constant fightings and bombings suggest a causal relationship with the destruction of local crops, which could not ensure the stable local food supply, making citizens resort to foreign food shipping. In addition, due to the peculiar characteristics of soil in different local areas, only specific food could strive to contain specific types of nutrition. In order to ensure an adequate amount of nutrition, people have to search for food supply from other regions, leading to various food options and ample nutrition intake in consumers.

In conclusion, local food consumption could offer many environmental and economic benefits despite the controversy of the unstable food supply. However, with better governmental administration and genetic modification of local food, these problems could easily be addressed.