Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In this globally connected world, it is a common practice to import and export food items from and to other countries either it is far or is in the neighborhood. Some people consider local food usage beneficial to the environment and the economy. I also think there many advantages of preferring the local item over the imported item.

Firstly, the locally produced items are available for people immediately after the production, as a result of which items are fresh when they come for consumption. Moreover, it would not affect our health and digestive system negatively. Consequently, reducing the medical facilities burden on the government which is an important sector in the expenditure list of the government.

Another major advantage is that it keeps revolving the economic cycle of the country. When we use our own produced crops, it helps the farmers which are unprivileged citizens and the neediest section of the society. For instance, an agriculture-based economy would comfortably get benefit from it.

Additionally, the transportation cost of local transit is also a major reason which is way less than the imported item shipping cost. While transportation globally produces more environmental hazards, this would also increase the pollution on the planet. Therefore, it could also play a critical role in reducing global warming.

The only drawback in relying on only locally develop items is its increased prices within the market, but it is the case only when your country's demand for a particular item is higher than the supply.

In conclusion, locally produced food items usage has positive impacts on the economy of the country and the overall world environment. Therefore, it is certain that these advantages completely outweigh the disadvantages.