Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are actually important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Economic growth, without any doubt, is an important objective for a government as it is directly linked to the living standards of citizens. Though per-capita income and steady economic progress are considered the most important goals for a government by many, social justice, political rest, gender equity and human rights are no less important for the true development of a country.

There are obvious reasons why economic development is often considered the primary goal of an administration. Firstly, it ensures better living standards for citizens. It, in turns, ensures, better job opportunities, education, healthcare and purchasing capabilities. For instance, countries with higher literacy rate and better life expectancy are usually economically strong. Moreover, increasing revenue and money reserve are vital for infrastructural development. Finally, a strong economy empowers the country’s global position and political influence.

Nevertheless, money alone cannot ensure a better social situation. A rich country will ultimately fall if they cannot curb crimes or maintain social justice. Human rights violation often puts rich countries behind the developing nations in living standards index. For instance, despite higher GDP, some developed countries are considered less favourable countries to live in. An autocratic government often turmoil the citizens’ rights to live freely and economic progress in such countries alone cannot make ordinary citizens happy. Perhaps another key consideration of countries true progress is tied with the gender equality. Thus the success of a government can often be measured with the social justice and happiness of citizens rather than the wealth they have.

To conclude, economic progress along with key elements for a better social state is overall criteria to measure the achievement of a government. It is expected that a government would put emphasis on making citizens happy along with the economic progress