Many individuals believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

In today’s technology driven world, websites such as Facebook, are not only used to connect with each other but it also a source of valid or invalid information. Many people believe that such websites are impacting society and its members negatively. I am in partial agreement with this statement shall explain the same in this essay.

The impact of social media on each individual is positive in many ways and there are various merits of it. Firstly, there are many individuals associated with one or more social networking websites. This is connecting people from one country to another and have brought world closer. Earlier, people never even imagined that they can be in touch with their friends or families but sites as Facebook have made it possible. Secondly, social groups on Facebook allow members of similar interests to interact with each other.

On the other hand, the reach of social media is vulnerable and can impact negatively if not adapted in correct manner. Rather than taking part in the local community, people are interested in knowing other people online. Social gatherings are reducing day by day and people are bending towards online communication. Furthermore, the whole society is becoming disjointed and fragmented as people tend to spend more time online with people they have never met face to face and who they might never meet in future as well.

In conclusion, although social networking sites have brought people closer, they have not had the same effect on local community. Local communities should engage more activities to create and maintain interest of individuals towards community life.