Many museums charge for admission fees while other are free

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to the museum outweigh the disadvantages?

In a lot of museums, people usually pay some entrance fee whereas others do not charge at all. Charging the public for entry into the institution, in my opinion, has more detrimental effect than the benefit. In this essay, I will, with the aid of reports from both the University of Nigeria (UN) and the Nigerian Education Board (NEB), analyse both the advantage and disadvantage of this action.

On the one hand, paying fees to access the museum could promote the value of the artifacts in the institution. This is because people often perceive the value of objects from the perspective of price. According to the UN in 2013, a research on value showed that prospects tend to rate paid goods or services higher than the free ones. The Mona Lisa painting in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, for example, is rated higher than the ones we see almost everywhere. The admission fees, therefore, if encouraged, highly valued would the objects be.

On the other hand, the museum's admission fees may be a factor causing the deficiency of knowledge among youths in the society. The NEB in 2012 reported that about 22% of high-school students do not really have sufficient information about their subjects. This is likely due to the fact that, in order for them to access valuable information in the museum's archive, they have to pay. Since most of these youths are not financially bouyant, and therefore cannot pay, they are mostly restricted from acquiring knowledge from the institution.

In conclusion, although the admission fees tend to add value to the objects in the museum, the shortage of knowledge amongst juveniles is a huge setback, and should not prevail. Therefore, I believe the disadvantage of paying entrance fee far outweighs the advantage.