Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults.

Why is this?

Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Youngsters find shopping appealing in many nations these days as it is their favourite choice of leisure activity. The reasons for this behaviour can be due to affordability and aesthetic value. However, the benefit of this development would be discussed in this essay

One of the main reasons why young people spend their free time in the shop is its affordability. In the past, people could afford luxury trips to foreign countries in their free time unlike now. The most affordable fascinating experience is shopping. Another reason some adolescents find pleasure in shopping could be because of its materials aesthetic value. They usually derive pleasure and satisfaction in acquiring beautiful things such as gadgets and costumes. By owning a newly designed material, they often have sense of joy. For example, a recent poll conducted in Nigeria found that around 70% of the youth enjoy operating electronic gadgets and devices as compared to reading.

However , as a result of these factors above, i believe that shopping is beneficial to the nation because of increased employment rate in the economy. If more individuals patronize retailers and spend money on their products, the investors would be encouraged to establish more businesses. Therefore, people would be vastly employed For instance , Ali newspaper in 2018 reported a 13% increase in employment in the shopping malls at Dubai; this is due to the growing shopping rate.

In conclusion, although while products affordability and its attractiveness entices young adults to spend much of their leisure activities shopping, I think this development is beneficial to the economy not only because it offers employment opportunities for young people, but it also helps to boost the economy.